Cold Chisel To Be Honoured At APRA Awards

Cold Chisel will be honoured at the upcoming APRA Awards.

The Aussie rockers will be given the Ted Albert Award for their outstanding services to Australian music at the upcoming ceremony in Sydney which honours Australian songwriters.

The band's five members Jimmy Barnes, Ian Moss, Don Walker, Phil Small and Steve Prestwich will be awarded for their 40-year career in the music industry with album sales of seven million, including last year's number one, platinum-selling, The Perfect Crime.

They will join musical luminaries Paul Kelly, Jimmy Little, Slim Dusty and The Seekers, who have all won the award in previous years. Sia and Jarryd James are leading the nominations on the night with four each.

Other nominees for their songwriting skills include Courtney Barnett, Tame Impala and Birds of Tokyo.

Ahead of the event, it has been revealed that Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars have been awarded the International Work of the Year for their global hit Uptown Funk which reached number one in more than 30 countries and has been viewed more than one billion times on YouTube.

Every year the event is highly anticipated, not only for the reveal of the winners but also for the eclectic performances on the night from Australian artists who perform the nominees for song of the year written by fellow Aussie musicians.

This year the performers include Urthboy with Kira Puru and Bertie Blackman, The Delta Riggs, D.I.G with Ngaiire, Gang of Youths and Montaigne, San Cisco, Guy Sebastian and The Living End.

Brian Nankervis will host the event with presenters including Suze DeMarchi, Tim Rogers, Adalita and Don Walker and special guest presenter, Archibald-winning artist, Ben Quilty.

* The APRA Music Awards will take place on April 5, at Carriageworks in Sydney.

Share this: